Eternal Elixir

Free shipping on all orders above $100!
Free shipping on all orders above $100!

Best Collagen Supplements Australia 2026: Skin & Joints

Best Collagen Supplements Australia 2026: Skin & Joints – Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg bottle

Last updated: September 26, 2026 · Originally published: May 20, 2026 · By Eternal Elixir Editorial

Quick answer: Eternal Elixir does not make a collagen, so our pick at #1 is the product we do make for the same skin goal: Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg, two capsules a day at $0.89 a serve. It adds antioxidant support that a collagen powder does not supply, and it works alongside any collagen on this list. If you came here for the best VERISOL collagen in Australia, Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty is the collagen we rank highest (#2). It lists VERISOL peptides in its ingredients, gives 11.7 g of collagen peptides and 40mg of vitamin C a serve, and costs $43.95 for 225 g. Nutraviva Collagen Hydrolysate has the lowest cost per serve on the list at $0.97 for 10 g.

Eternal Elixir makes Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg, and it is our pick at #1 in this list. It is not a collagen supplement, and we say so wherever it appears. Every figure for the seven collagens comes from the brand’s or retailer’s own product page, checked in September 2026, and every research claim links to the published study. We have not lab-tested any of these products. Our Hyaluronic Acid 200mg, which used to sit at #1 here, is currently unavailable.

Searching for an “Eternal collagen”? We don’t sell one. The collagens below are the ones we would compare if we were buying in Australia today, and our own product is there for the antioxidant side of the skin goal.

Best collagen supplements in Australia compared

The table puts every product on its own label’s daily serve. Collagen per serve is the figure the brand prints, and cost per serve is the listed price divided by the stated number of serves. Prices are in AUD as of Sep 2026, before any sale or subscription discount.

RankProductSourceCollagen per daily servePrice (AUD, as of Sep 2026)Cost per serveBuy
1Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg (our pick, not a collagen)AntioxidantNone. 2,000mg reduced glutathione (2 capsules)$39.99 for 90 capsules$0.89Eternal Elixir
2Nutra Organics Collagen BeautyBovine, includes VERISOL11.7 g (12 g scoop)$43.95 for 225 g (18.5 serves)$2.38Nutra Organics
3Chief Grass-fed Collagen Protein Powder, UnflavouredBovine (types I and III)15 g$52.95 for 450 g (30 serves)$1.77Chief
4Nutraviva Collagen HydrolysateBovine, grass-fed and finished10 g (1 tablespoon)$77.90 for 800 g (80 serves)$0.97Nutraviva
5Vida Glow Pro Collagen+Marine tripeptides2,500mg plus 120mg sodium hyaluronate$99.00 for 30 sachets$3.30Vida Glow
6NEE-V HydraPlenish MarineMarine, VERISOL F3 g serve (collagen share not split out)$65.00 for 90 g (30 serves)$2.17NEE-V
7Gelpro Multi Collagen, UnflavouredBovine, fish, eggshell membrane (types I, II, III, V, X)15 g scoop (13.6 g protein)$94.00 for 454 g$3.11Gelpro
8Nature’s Way Collagen + Hyaluronic Acid tabletsHydrolysed collagen2,500mg plus 150mg sodium hyaluronate (3 tablets)$19.99 for 60 tablets at Chemist Warehouse (RRP $39.99)$1.00Chemist Warehouse

Add Reduced L-Glutathione to cart · $39.99

Two notes on the maths. Gelpro does not print a serve count, so its figure is 454 g divided by the 15 g scoop, about 30 serves. Nutra Organics gets cheaper in bigger bags: the 450 g size is $65.95 for 37.5 serves, or $1.76 a serve. Vida Glow was running a 20% sitewide sale when we checked, which took Pro Collagen+ to $79.20, but we show the regular price because sales come and go.

How we ranked these collagen supplements

We started with the collagens that show up for Australian searches: the brands on the first page of Google for “best collagen” and “best VERISOL collagen”, the tablets on Chemist Warehouse shelves, and the multi-collagen powders people ask about when they search for “all 5 types”. For each product we recorded the source animal, the collagen per serve, the extras, the price and the serve count. The seven collagens are then ordered on three questions:

  • Does a serve reach the doses used in trials? The skin trials below used 2.5 g to 10 g of collagen peptides a day. The joint trials used 5 g and 10 g.
  • Does the label tell you what you are getting? A named peptide is a plus, and so is a collagen figure in grams. A serve size with the collagen share hidden inside it counts against the product.
  • What does a serve cost? Pack price divided by the stated serves. A small premium tub can look cheaper on the shelf and still cost three times as much per day.

Our Reduced L-Glutathione sits at #1 outside that scoring because it is not a collagen. It is our pick because it is the skin product Eternal Elixir makes and has in stock, it costs $0.89 a serve, and it covers a different job from the powders below. Collagens that did not make the eight are listed under “Also considered” below.

The 8 best collagen supplements in Australia, reviewed

#1. Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg: our pick for skin (not a collagen)

  • What it is: reduced L-glutathione, the active form of the antioxidant your cells make from three amino acids.
  • Dose: 2,000mg per two-capsule serve. The label says to take two capsules daily on an empty stomach.
  • Bottle and price: 90 capsules for $39.99, which is 45 serves at $0.89 each.
  • Buying here: 30-day money-back guarantee, ships from Sydney within 24 hours, and Afterpay is available. Shipping is free on orders over $100.

Collagen powders supply protein fragments. Glutathione does something else: it is part of the body’s own antioxidant system, and the one skin trial of oral glutathione we cite below found fewer wrinkles at some measured sites after 12 weeks. That makes it a partner for a collagen rather than a replacement. If you already take one of the powders below, adding two capsules covers the antioxidant side without another scoop.

Who it suits: people who want a capsule rather than a powder, anyone already taking a collagen who wants to add antioxidant support, and buyers who want a 45-day bottle from an Australian shop.

Who it doesn’t suit: anyone whose goal is joint comfort or the specific skin results in the collagen trials. It contains no collagen peptides, so pick a collagen from #2 onwards for that. It is also not a hydration product. For dry skin, our Grass-Fed Tallow Balm is the topical option. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding or on prescription medicines, talk to your doctor before starting it.

See Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg

#2. Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty: VERISOL with a stated collagen dose

  • Per 12 g serve: 11.7 g collagen peptides, 40mg vitamin C, 1.8mg zinc and 53mg silica.
  • Ingredients (225 g): hydrolysed bovine collagen peptides, VERISOL bioactive collagen peptides (bovine), sea buckthorn, bamboo stem extract and guava leaf extract.
  • Price: $43.95 for 225 g (18.5 serves, $2.38 a serve), $65.95 for 450 g (37.5 serves, $1.76) or $79.95 for 672 g (56 serves).

This is the product Google’s AI Overview names first for VERISOL searches in Australia, and the label backs up much of the attention. You get a real gram figure for collagen, vitamin C at the full recommended daily intake, and VERISOL in the ingredient list. What the page does not say is how much of the 11.7 g is VERISOL and how much is standard hydrolysed collagen. The VERISOL trials used 2.5 g a day, so if that exact peptide is your reason for buying, you are taking the brand’s word that a serve reaches it. The brand describes its cattle as grass-fed but not grass-finished, which is a fair and specific disclosure.

Who it suits: people who want an unflavoured bovine powder with VERISOL and vitamin C in one scoop. Who it doesn’t: anyone avoiding bovine products, and anyone who wants the VERISOL dose printed on the pack.

#3. Chief Grass-fed Collagen Protein Powder: 15 g of plain bovine collagen

  • Per serve: 15 g of hydrolysed grass-fed bovine collagen (types I and III). Collagen is the only ingredient.
  • Price: $52.95 for a 450 g pouch of 30 serves, $1.77 a serve. Chief’s page also shows a lower “from” price per serve.
  • Testing: the brand says the powder is tested for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate, with the lab report available on request.

Chief sells this as a protein top-up as much as a beauty product, and the numbers suit that. A 15 g serve is above the doses used in most collagen trials, it has no sweetener, and there is no scoop in the pack (the directions say two heaped tablespoons). The page showed a 5.0 rating from 348 reviews when we checked. There is no named peptide, so the evidence you are leaning on is the general collagen hydrolysate research rather than a trial of this exact ingredient.

Who it suits: people who want a simple unflavoured bovine collagen at a daily dose above the trial range. Who it doesn’t: buyers who want marine collagen or added vitamin C.

#4. Nutraviva Collagen Hydrolysate: lowest cost per serve

  • Per serve: 10 g (one tablespoon) of unblended bovine collagen hydrolysate. The directions allow up to two serves a day.
  • Price: $77.90 for 800 g, which is 80 serves at $0.97 each. A 450 g bag is $49.00.
  • Source: grass-fed and finished cattle, made in Brazil and packed in Australia. Nutraviva also sells an Australian-made hydrolysate at $90.00 for 900 g.

If price per gram decides it for you, this is the cheapest collagen here by a wide margin. Ten grams a day matches the top dose in the skin trials and the dose in the 24-week athlete joint study. There is nothing added, so you supply your own vitamin C from food or a separate supplement.

Who it suits: anyone planning to take collagen every day for months who wants the lowest running cost. Who it doesn’t: people who want a flavoured drink or a named, trial-tested peptide.

#5. Vida Glow Pro Collagen+: marine tripeptides with hyaluronic acid

  • Per sachet: 2,500mg hydrolysed marine collagen tripeptides, 120mg sodium hyaluronate, 12.5mg bromelain and 55.5mg kiwi fruit powder.
  • Price: $99.00 for 30 sachets, $3.30 a serve at the regular price.
  • Allergens: contains fish. Dairy and gluten free, and the brand states it is halal certified.

Vida Glow has sold collagen in Australia for 12 years, going by its own anniversary sale. Pro Collagen+ is its premium line: 2.5 g of marine collagen in a flavourless sachet, plus a hyaluronic acid salt. The dose sits at the bottom of the trial range, and the study the brand cites for this product appeared in JOJ Case Studies rather than in one of the dermatology journals below, so weigh its headline percentages accordingly. You are paying for the tripeptide form and the convenience of a sachet.

Who it suits: people who want marine collagen and hyaluronic acid in one sachet and don’t mind the price. Who it doesn’t: anyone allergic to fish, or anyone who wants a larger dose for less money.

#6. NEE-V HydraPlenish Marine: VERISOL F in a small daily serve

  • Per serve: 3 g of powder containing marine bioactive collagen peptides (VERISOL F), vitamin C and biotin. The page does not split out the collagen grams.
  • Price: $65.00 for a 90 g tub (30 serves, $2.17 a serve). The listing shows a regular price of $79.00.
  • Also from NEE-V: Glow Naked, an unflavoured bovine VERISOL powder at $60.00 for about 30 serves.

NEE-V ranks near the top of Google for VERISOL searches, and its whole collagen range is built around Gelita’s peptide. The catch is the dose. Gelita gives 5 g a day as the dose for its fish-sourced VERISOL, and a 3 g serve that also contains vitamin C and biotin cannot reach that. Glow Naked has the bovine version, but its page gives a serve count without the serve size in grams.

Who it suits: pescatarians who want VERISOL in a marine form and a very small scoop. Who it doesn’t: anyone who wants to match the studied dose from one serve.

#7. Gelpro Multi Collagen: all five types in one scoop

  • Per 15 g scoop: 13.6 g of collagen protein from bovine hide (types I and III), marine collagen (types I and III), bovine cartilage (type II) and eggshell membrane (types V and X).
  • Price: $94.00 for 454 g, about 30 scoops, or $3.11 a serve.
  • Ingredients: collagen only, unflavoured, no binders or anti-caking agents.

If you searched for the best collagen with all 5 types in Australia, this is the local option we could verify, and it is the one Google’s AI Overview cites first for that query. The brand is clear about where each type comes from. What no one can show you is a trial where adding types II, V and X to a type I and III powder improved skin or joints. The collagen trials in this guide used single-source hydrolysates.

Who it suits: people who specifically want types II, V and X in the same scoop. Who it doesn’t: anyone allergic to fish or egg, and budget buyers.

#8. Nature’s Way Collagen + Hyaluronic Acid: the tablet option at Chemist Warehouse

  • Per 3-tablet daily dose: 2,500mg hydrolysed collagen and 150mg sodium hyaluronate, plus vitamin C.
  • Price: $19.99 for 60 tablets at Chemist Warehouse (RRP $39.99). That is 20 days, or $1.00 a day.
  • Label warnings: use is limited to 3 months, not recommended in pregnancy or breastfeeding, and it contains soy, sulfites and phenylalanine.

Tablets are the answer for people who will not drink a powder. The trade-off is the dose: three tablets give 2.5 g of collagen, the bottom of the trial range, and you swallow three a day for it. Products containing sodium hyaluronate carry this 3-month limit, so plan a break if you like it.

Who it suits: people who want tablets they can pick up at Chemist Warehouse. Who it doesn’t: anyone who wants to take collagen for longer than three months straight, or a higher daily dose.

Also considered

These collagens are worth knowing about but did not make the ranked eight, usually on price per gram or because the label leaves out a figure we needed.

  • Vida Glow Natural Marine Collagen Sachets (Original): 3,000mg hydrolysed marine collagen per sachet, 30 sachets for $70.00 ($2.33 a serve). Vida Glow says the fish come from open-water farms in Europe. It is cheaper per gram than Pro Collagen+ but has no added hyaluronic acid.
  • The Collagen Co. Mixed Berry Collagen Powder: 15 g of bovine collagen peptides and 50mg hyaluronic acid a serve, with vitamin C and biotin, $79.00 for 560 g. It is the flavoured choice if plain powders put you off. The page does not state how many serves are in the bag.
  • Swisse Beauty Collagen + Hyaluronic Acid Booster: four tablets a day give 2,500mg hydrolysed collagen. It costs $44.99 for 80 tablets (20 days, $2.25 a day) or $71.99 for 160. Same collagen dose as the Nature’s Way tablets at more than twice the daily cost.
  • Nutraviva Marine Collagen: wild-caught North Atlantic fish, a 5 g serve, $84.56 for 280 g (56 serves, $1.51 a serve). A cheaper marine option than the sachets if you are happy to measure a teaspoon.

We removed two products from the earlier version of this page: Bare Blends Marine Collagen, which the brand’s shop no longer lists (it now sells a flavoured collagen blend called Bare Glow), and Vital Proteins, whose Australian site shows no prices, so we could not put it on the same cost-per-serve footing.

Best VERISOL collagen in Australia

VERISOL is a branded collagen peptide made by the German company Gelita. The standard version is bovine, and Gelita also makes a fish-sourced version called VERISOL F. Gelita gives 2.5 g a day as the dose for VERISOL, or 5 g for fish-sourced products. That dose figure matters more than the logo, because several Australian products carry the name without telling you how much is in a serve.

Here is how the VERISOL products we checked compare on that point:

  • Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty: VERISOL plus standard bovine collagen hydrolysate, 11.7 g of collagen in total per serve. The VERISOL share is not stated.
  • NEE-V Glow Naked and VeriBerry: bovine VERISOL with vitamin C and biotin, about 30 serves per canister. The serve size in grams is not on the product page.
  • NEE-V HydraPlenish Marine: VERISOL F in a 3 g serve that also holds vitamin C and biotin, which is below the 5 g Gelita gives for its fish-sourced peptide.

Is VERISOL better than regular collagen? It has more published human trials behind the exact ingredient than most generic hydrolysates, and those trials used a small dose. In our PubMed search we did not find a trial comparing VERISOL head to head with a generic bovine hydrolysate at the same dose. If you buy a generic powder at 10 g a day, you are relying on the wider hydrolysed-collagen research instead of a trial of that product. If you buy VERISOL, check that a serve gives you at least 2.5 g of it.

Among the VERISOL products, Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty ranks highest in our list because it states its total collagen in grams and adds vitamin C. If you want our own product alongside it, Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione adds the antioxidant side in two capsules.

Does collagen work? What the trials show

Skin: hydration, elasticity and wrinkles

The pooled evidence leans positive, with one important caveat. A 2021 meta-analysis in the International Journal of Dermatology pooled 19 randomised, double-blind trials with 1,125 participants aged 20 to 70 (95% women) and found that hydrolysed collagen improved skin hydration, elasticity and wrinkles against placebo over about 90 days (de Miranda 2021). A 2023 meta-analysis in Nutrients pooled 26 trials with 1,721 participants and found the same direction for hydration and elasticity, while flagging several sources of bias in the trials (Pu 2023). A 2023 meta-analysis in Cureus pooled 14 trials with 967 participants and reported gains in skin moisture and elasticity over 12 weeks (Dewi 2023).

Now the other side. A 2025 meta-analysis in the American Journal of Medicine looked at 23 trials with 1,474 participants and split them by who paid for them. Across all 23, collagen came out ahead. In the trials without pharmaceutical-company funding, and in the high-quality trials, it showed no significant effect on hydration, elasticity or wrinkles (Myung 2025). That doesn’t prove collagen does nothing, but it does mean the strongest-looking results come mostly from sponsored studies. Keep your expectations modest.

The VERISOL trials show what the positive studies look like. In one, 69 women aged 35 to 55 took 2.5 g or 5 g of a specific collagen hydrolysate daily for 8 weeks, and skin elasticity improved significantly against placebo in both groups. Skin moisture changes did not reach significance (Proksch 2014, Skin Pharmacology and Physiology). In the second, 114 women aged 45 to 65 took 2.5 g of VERISOL daily for 8 weeks. Eye wrinkle volume fell 20% against placebo, and skin samples showed 65% more procollagen type I and 18% more elastin (Proksch 2014b). Both trials were small, and each lasted 8 weeks.

Another trial often quoted for collagen tested a drink rather than collagen alone. In 120 people over 90 days, a liquid containing hydrolysed fish collagen plus vitamins and other actives raised skin elasticity by 40% against placebo (Czajka 2018). Because the drink contained several actives, the collagen’s share of that result can’t be separated out.

Nails and hair

In an open-label study, 25 participants took 2.5 g of VERISOL daily for 24 weeks. Nail growth rate rose 12% and the frequency of broken nails fell 42% (Hexsel 2017). There was no placebo group, so treat it as a promising signal rather than proof. Hair has less behind it. A 2026 trial gave 114 women aged 20 to 50 with self-reported hair thinning either 1,000mg a day of a low-molecular-weight fish collagen peptide or a placebo for 24 weeks, and hair diameter increased significantly with the peptide (Hwang 2026). That is one trial of one specific ingredient, two of whose authors work in a Korean health-food company’s research department, and none of the collagens on this list uses it. We would not buy a collagen for hair alone.

Joints

The joint research is smaller and mostly in active people. In a 24-week trial, 147 athletes took 10 g of collagen hydrolysate a day or a placebo drink. Several measures of activity-related joint discomfort improved more with collagen, although only 97 participants’ data could be analysed (Clark 2008). In a 12-week trial, 139 athletes with activity-related knee discomfort took 5 g of specific collagen peptides a day, and discomfort during activity improved more than with placebo (p = 0.046). Discomfort at rest did not differ significantly (Zdzieblik 2017).

For joint comfort, the dose that has been studied is 5 g to 10 g a day, which points to the plain powders at #3 and #4 rather than the tablets. Our glutathione does not help here, and we would not suggest it for joints.

Marine vs bovine vs multi-collagen with all 5 types

Bovine collagen comes from cattle hide and is mostly types I and III, the types found in skin. It is the cheapest per gram (Nutraviva works out at under a dollar for 10 g), and standard VERISOL is bovine. Look for the grazing claim spelled out: Nutraviva says grass-fed and finished, Nutra Organics says grass-fed but not always grass-finished.

Marine collagen comes from fish skin and is mostly type I. It suits pescatarians and people avoiding beef. Brands often claim it absorbs better because the peptides are smaller, but the 2023 Nutrients meta-analysis found no significant difference between collagen sources for skin elasticity (Pu 2023). Expect to pay more per gram: the Vida Glow and NEE-V marine products cost $2.17 to $3.30 a serve for 2.5 g to 3 g.

Multi-collagen with all 5 types blends bovine, fish, chicken or eggshell sources to list types I, II, III, V and X. Gelpro Multi Collagen at #7 is the Australian option we could check. Type II is the cartilage type, and types V and X are minor types. A five-type label tells you about sourcing, not results: the trials behind collagen for skin and joints used single-source hydrolysates, and none we found showed that adding extra types works better.

Vegan “collagen” does not exist, because collagen only comes from animals. Plant products sold as collagen builders supply vitamin C, zinc, silica and amino acids instead. Vitamin C matters here: the body needs it to make collagen (Pullar 2017), and it is the one nutrient worth checking for whatever collagen you choose.

Where glutathione fits, and why it is our pick

Collagen and glutathione do different jobs. A collagen powder gives your body protein fragments rich in glycine, proline and hydroxyproline. Glutathione is an antioxidant the body makes itself, and a reduced (active) glutathione supplement adds to that supply. We make Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg, not a collagen, so we put it at #1 as the skin product from our own range and say plainly what it is.

What the human studies show:

  • Skin: 60 healthy women aged 20 to 50 took 250mg of reduced glutathione, 250mg of oxidised glutathione or a placebo daily for 12 weeks. The reduced-glutathione group had significantly fewer wrinkles than placebo at some of the sites measured, and skin elasticity trended upward without reaching significance (Weschawalit 2017).
  • Body stores: in a 6-month trial of 54 non-smoking adults, 1,000mg a day raised glutathione levels by 30 to 35% in red blood cells, plasma and lymphocytes. Levels returned to baseline a month after stopping (Richie 2015).

Our serve is 2,000mg a day, which is above the doses these trials used: twice the 1,000mg in the body-stores trial and eight times the 250mg in the skin trial. No trial we found tested 2,000mg a day for skin, so the skin evidence comes from lower doses. If you want to start closer to the trial doses, one capsule gives 1,000mg. The label directs two capsules on an empty stomach.

For the wider picture on this antioxidant, read what glutathione can do for skin and immunity, or see how our capsules compare with other brands in our glutathione supplement comparison.

How to take collagen: dose, timing and what to pair it with

Dose. Match the trials. For VERISOL that means 2.5 g a day (5 g for the fish version). For a generic hydrolysate, the skin trials ran from 2.5 g to 10 g a day and the joint trials used 5 g and 10 g. Nutra Organics recommends staying under 20 g of collagen a day in total if you combine products, which is a sensible ceiling.

How long. The skin trials ran for 8 to 12 weeks before measuring, and the joint trials for 12 to 24 weeks. Give any collagen at least eight weeks of daily use before you judge it, and take photos in the same light at the start if you want a fair comparison.

Timing. No trial we cite tested morning against evening, so take it when you will remember. Collagen dissolves in hot or cold drinks, and the powders on this list are fine in coffee.

Pairings that make sense:

  • Vitamin C. Your body needs it to build collagen. Nutra Organics, NEE-V, Nature’s Way and The Collagen Co. include it. With Chief or Nutraviva, get it from fruit or a separate supplement.
  • Glutathione. Collagen supplies building blocks and glutathione adds antioxidant support. Our Reduced L-Glutathione is two capsules a day with any powder here.
  • Hyaluronic acid. Vida Glow, Nature’s Way and The Collagen Co. add it to their collagen. We don’t have our hyaluronic acid capsules in stock at the moment. For the evidence, see whether hyaluronic acid tablets work for skin and joints, how to choose a hyaluronic acid supplement and hyaluronic acid vs collagen.
  • Something for the outside of your skin. A supplement works from the inside. For dry patches, our Grass-Fed Tallow Balm is grass-fed tallow with beeswax, coconut oil and raw honey, applied to clean skin. Because it contains raw honey, don’t use it on babies under 12 months. Our guide to tallow and the skin barrier explains how it compares with ceramide creams.

If you are building a wider routine, our guides to the best skin supplements in Australia and the best supplements for women over 40 cover options beyond collagen, and you can browse the full Eternal Elixir range.

What to check on a collagen label

  • Collagen in grams per serve. “Collagen blend” or a scoop size without a collagen figure tells you little. Nutra Organics, Chief, Nutraviva and Vida Glow print it. NEE-V does not split it out.
  • “Hydrolysed” or “peptides”. Hydrolysed collagen is what the trials used. Gelatine and undenatured type II are different products with different doses.
  • The named peptide and its dose. If a product sells itself on VERISOL, look for at least 2.5 g of it per serve (5 g for VERISOL F).
  • Serves per pack. Divide the price by it. Gelpro and The Collagen Co. make you do the maths yourself.
  • Source and allergens. Marine products contain fish. Multi-collagens can contain fish and egg. Some tablets carry soy, sulfite or phenylalanine warnings.
  • Duration limits. Tablets with sodium hyaluronate, such as the Nature’s Way and Swisse products, state a 3-month limit on the label.

Treat gummies and “collagen boosting” tablets with care. A collagen dose in milligrams, rather than grams, is well below what the skin trials used, unless it is a specific peptide tested at that dose.

Frequently asked questions

Which brand of VERISOL collagen is best in Australia?

Eternal Elixir does not make a VERISOL collagen. Our pick for skin is our Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg, which is not a collagen and pairs with one. Among VERISOL products, Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty ranks highest in our list: 11.7 g of collagen peptides per serve including VERISOL, 40mg of vitamin C, and $2.38 a serve in the 225 g size. It does not state how much of the 11.7 g is VERISOL. NEE-V builds its range around VERISOL but doesn’t print collagen grams per serve.

Add Reduced L-Glutathione to cart · $39.99

Is VERISOL collagen better than regular collagen?

VERISOL has its own published human trials at 2.5 g a day, including one in which 114 women saw eye wrinkle volume fall 20% against placebo after 8 weeks. Generic hydrolysates rely on the wider research, where pooled results are positive overall but not significant in trials without pharmaceutical-company funding. In our PubMed search we found no trial comparing the two directly at the same dose, so “better” comes down to the evidence behind the exact ingredient and whether your serve reaches the studied dose.

Which type of collagen is VERISOL?

Standard VERISOL is hydrolysed bovine collagen peptides made by Gelita. Gelita also makes VERISOL F from fish. Both are hydrolysed collagen, the form used in the skin trials.

What is the best collagen on the market in Australia?

Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg is our pick for the skin goal behind many collagen searches, at $0.89 a serve. It is not a collagen, and we make it. If you want a collagen itself, the one we rank highest is Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty (#2). Chief suits people who want 15 g of plain bovine collagen, Nutraviva has the lowest cost per serve at $0.97 for 10 g, and Vida Glow Pro Collagen+ is the premium marine option at $3.30 a sachet.

Add Reduced L-Glutathione to cart · $39.99

Which collagen has all five types?

Multi-collagen powders list types I, II, III, V and X by blending sources. Gelpro Multi Collagen is the Australian one we checked: bovine hide, marine collagen, bovine cartilage and eggshell membrane, 13.6 g of protein per 15 g scoop, $94.00 for 454 g. No trial we found shows five types work better than a single-source type I and III collagen.

Is marine or bovine collagen better?

For skin elasticity, a 2023 meta-analysis of 26 trials found no significant difference between collagen sources. Bovine is cheaper per gram, and standard VERISOL is bovine. Marine suits pescatarians and people who avoid beef, and it costs more: the marine sachets and tubs here run $2.17 to $3.30 a serve for 2.5 g to 3 g.

How long does collagen take to work?

The skin trials measured changes after 8 to 12 weeks of daily use. The joint trials ran for 12 to 24 weeks. Give any product at least two months before deciding, and take it daily rather than now and then.

Are there side effects, and who should avoid collagen?

No side effects were recorded in the 8-week VERISOL skin trial of 69 women (Proksch 2014). Avoid marine collagen if you are allergic to fish, and multi-collagens with eggshell membrane if you are allergic to egg. If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, have a kidney condition, follow a protein-restricted diet or take prescription medicines, talk to your doctor first. The collagen tablets here carry a 3-month limit on their labels.

The bottom line

Eternal Elixir Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg is our pick: 2,000mg of reduced glutathione in two capsules, 90 capsules for $39.99, a 45-day bottle at $0.89 a serve, shipped from Sydney. It is not a collagen, and it pairs with one rather than replacing it. For the collagen itself, Nutra Organics Collagen Beauty gives VERISOL with a stated 11.7 g of collagen and vitamin C, and Nutraviva is the cheapest way to take 10 g a day. Whatever you choose, check the collagen grams per serve and give it eight weeks.

Sources

  • de Miranda RB, Weimer P, Rossi RC. Effects of hydrolyzed collagen supplementation on skin aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Int J Dermatol. 2021;60(12):1449-1461. PubMed 33742704
  • Pu SY, Huang YL, Pu CM, et al. Effects of oral collagen for skin anti-aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrients. 2023;15(9):2080. PubMed 37432180
  • Dewi DAR, Arimuko A, Norawati L, et al. Exploring the impact of hydrolyzed collagen oral supplementation on skin rejuvenation: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Cureus. 2023;15(12):e50231. PubMed 38192916
  • Myung SK, Park Y. Effects of collagen supplements on skin aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Am J Med. 2025;138(9):1264-1277. PubMed 40324552
  • Proksch E, Segger D, Degwert J, et al. Oral supplementation of specific collagen peptides has beneficial effects on human skin physiology: a double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Skin Pharmacol Physiol. 2014;27(1):47-55. PubMed 23949208
  • Proksch E, Schunck M, Zague V, et al. Oral intake of specific bioactive collagen peptides reduces skin wrinkles and increases dermal matrix synthesis. Skin Pharmacol Physiol. 2014;27(3):113-119. PubMed 24401291
  • Czajka A, Kania EM, Genovese L, et al. Daily oral supplementation with collagen peptides combined with vitamins and other bioactive compounds improves skin elasticity and has a beneficial effect on joint and general wellbeing. Nutr Res. 2018;57:97-108. PubMed 30122200
  • Hexsel D, Zague V, Schunck M, et al. Oral supplementation with specific bioactive collagen peptides improves nail growth and reduces symptoms of brittle nails. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2017;16(4):520-526. PubMed 28786550
  • Hwang S, Won J, Kim S, et al. Low-molecular-weight collagen peptide supplementation improves cellulite severity, skin elasticity, and hair shaft diameter. J Med Food. 2026;29(4):187-195. PubMed 41788055
  • Clark KL, Sebastianelli W, Flechsenhar KR, et al. 24-week study on the use of collagen hydrolysate as a dietary supplement in athletes with activity-related joint pain. Curr Med Res Opin. 2008;24(5):1485-1496. PubMed 18416885
  • Zdzieblik D, Oesser S, Gollhofer A, König D. Improvement of activity-related knee joint discomfort following supplementation of specific collagen peptides. Appl Physiol Nutr Metab. 2017;42(6):588-595. PubMed 28177710
  • Weschawalit S, Thongthip S, Phutrakool P, Asawanonda P. Glutathione and its antiaging and antimelanogenic effects. Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2017;10:147-153. PubMed 28490897
  • Richie JP Jr, Nichenametla S, Neidig W, et al. Randomized controlled trial of oral glutathione supplementation on body stores of glutathione. Eur J Nutr. 2015;54(2):251-263. PubMed 24791752
  • Pullar JM, Carr AC, Vissers MCM. The roles of vitamin C in skin health. Nutrients. 2017;9(8):866. PubMed 28805671
  • Gelita. VERISOL collagen peptides (daily dose). gelita.com
  • Product details and prices, checked September 2026: Nutra Organics, Chief, Nutraviva Collagen Hydrolysate, Nutraviva Marine Collagen, Vida Glow Pro Collagen+, Vida Glow Natural Marine Collagen, NEE-V HydraPlenish Marine, Gelpro Multi Collagen, Nature’s Way at Chemist Warehouse, Swisse, The Collagen Co.


Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any supplement regimen. Eternal Elixir products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

More Blog Posts

Reduced L-Glutathione 2000mg$39.99 · 90 capsules · $0.89/day
Add to cart